Travel habits

Information

The travel habits of the Austrian resident population are surveyed by means of a quarterly sample survey.

The survey provides an important basis for tourism reporting. Detailed knowledge of travel flows, their characteristics and the profile of travellers and non-travellers is necessary to be able to identify, evaluate or compare changes in travel habits. The results are also used as a basis for tourism or marketing policy measures.

The Republic of Austria is obliged by Regulation (EU) No. 692/2011 of the European Parliament and of the Council on European tourism statistics and the Tourism Demand Statistics Regulation BGBl. II No. 301/2003 and BGBl. II No. 25/2012 to collect information on the travel habits of the Austrian resident population.

The results, which are anonymised and compiled into statistics, are regularly published on our website. Research institutes may request anonymised data for scientific purposes. The Statistical Office of the European Community (Eurostat) receives an anonymised data set for statistical analyses.

Statistical confidentiality and data protection are among our most important principles. Comprehensive data protection information is available in our data protection sheet.

A data collection of all people in Austria is not possible because it would be too time intensive and, above all, cost-prohibitive. Therefore, a sample survey is carried out - by means of which the entire population living in Austria is to be represented as accurately as possible. The selection frame is provided by the Central Register of Residents (ZMR); the addresses are drawn at random and the telephone numbers are taken from the public telephone directory (Herold). The aim is to interview 3 500 people between the ages of 15 and 85 who live in Austria.

Participants are informed via letter that they have been selected for either the telephone or the online survey, i.e. following the letter, you will be contacted either via telephone (interview) or by means of an online questionnaire.

Even though participation in the survey is voluntary, it is of great importance to achieve the highest possible response rate in order to be able to guarantee the representativeness and thus quality necessary for the compilation of statistics.

The data collection on the travel habits of the Austrian resident population is conducted quarterly, always in the following month after the reference period has ended (e.g. the survey on travel habits in the 1st quarter is conducted in April-May). The exact period of the survey is communicated accordingly in the letter (advance notice).

Telephone studio: available on weekdays from 4.00 pm–8.00 pm

If you are selected for the telephone survey and prefer to be called at a specific time, you can state your preferred time at reisen@statistik.gv.at. We will do our best to call you at that time! We also ask you to give us your (new) telephone number (by e-mail to reisen@statistik.gv.at) so that we can reach you!

We ask you to keep records of your trips available if possible, especially regarding travel expenses (total costs of the trip, costs for transport, accommodation, other expenses for goods and services on site), to keep the interview as short as possible.

Even if you did not travel during the relevant period, this information is important to us as well, so please participate in the survey if this applies to you.

All private trips, i.e. also visits to friends and relatives, trips to the second home and other trips for recreational or leisure purposes are considered as holiday trips. Business trips include all trips made for professional or business purposes.

In addition to the profile of domestic and trips abroad (length of stay, destination, month of departure, travel reason and purpose of travel, accommodation, organisation, means of transport and expenditure), the profile of travellers and non-travellers (socio-demographic characteristics) is collected.

Download: Questionnaire 

WURIAN Rebecka Phone: +43 1 711 28-7597 reisen@statistik.gv.at
DAUL Rebecca Phone: +43 1 711 28-8168 reisen@statistik.gv.at

Reiseverhalten

Informationen

Das Reiseverhalten der österreichischen Wohnbevölkerung wird mittels vierteljährlicher Stichprobenerhebung erfragt.

Die Erhebung stellt eine wichtige Grundlage für die Tourismusberichterstattung dar. Detaillierte Kenntnisse über die Reiseströme, ihre Merkmale und das Profil der Reisenden und Nicht-Reisenden sind erforderlich, um Veränderungen im Reiseverhalten erkennen, bewerten bzw. vergleichen zu können. Die Ergebnisse werden außerdem als Grundlage für tourismus- bzw. marketingpolitische Maßnahmen genutzt.

Die Republik Österreich ist durch die Verordnung (EU) Nr. 692/2011 des europäischen Parlamentes und des Rates über die europäische Tourismusstatistik und der Tourismus-Nachfragestatistik-Verordnung BGBl. II Nr. 301/2003 und BGBl. II Nr. 25/2012 verpflichtet, Informationen zum Reiseverhalten der österreichischen Wohnbevölkerung zu erheben.

Die anonymisierten und zu Statistiken zusammengefassten Ergebnisse werden regelmäßig auf unserer Webseite publiziert. Forschungsinstitute können anonymisierte Daten für wissenschaftliche Zwecke anfordern. Das Statistische Amt der Europäischen Gemeinschaft (Eurostat) erhält für statistische Analysen einen anonymisierten Datensatz.

Statistikgeheimnis und der Datenschutz zählen zu unseren wichtigsten Grundsätzen. Umfangreiche Datenschutzinformationen finden Sie auf unserem Datenschutzblatt.

Da eine Befragung aller Personen in Österreich aus Zeit- aber vor allem Kostengründen nicht möglich ist, wird eine Stichprobenerhebung durchgeführt, mittels der möglichst genau die Gesamtheit der in Österreich lebenden Bevölkerung abgebildet werden soll. Den Auswahlrahmen stellt das Zentrale Melderegister (ZMR); die Adressen werden zufällig gezogen und die Telefonnummern dem öffentlichen Telefonbuch (Herold) entnommen. Ziel ist es, 3 500 in Österreich wohnhafte Personen zwischen 15 und 85 Jahren zu befragen.

Mittels Brief erfolgt die Vorankündigung, dass Sie entweder für die telefonische oder die online Erhebung ausgewählt wurden, d.h. die Kontaktaufnahme erfolgt entweder telefonisch (Interview) oder mittels online-Fragebogen.

Auch wenn die Teilnahme an der Erhebung freiwillig ist, ist es von großer Bedeutung eine möglichst hohe Rückmeldung zu erreichen, um die für die Erstellung von Statistiken auch notwendige Repräsentativität und damit Qualität gewährleisten zu können.

Die Erhebung zum Reiseverhalten der österreichischen Wohnbevölkerung wird vierteljährlich, immer im Folgequartal durchgeführt (z.B. die Erhebung zum Reiseverhalten im 1. Quartal wird im April-Mai erhoben). Der genaue Zeitraum der Erhebung wird im Brief (Vorankündigung) entsprechend kommuniziert.

Telefonstudio-Erreichbarkeit: Montag bis Freitag (werktags) von 16:00 – 20:00 Uhr.

Wenn Sie für die telefonische Befragung ausgewählt wurden und zu einem bestimmten Termin angerufen werden möchten, können Sie unter reisen@statistik.gv.at Ihren Wunschtermin nennen. Wir werden uns bemühen, Sie dann auch zu dem genannten Zeitpunkt anzurufen! Auch dürfen wir Sie ersuchen, uns Ihre (neue) Telefonnummer bekannt zu geben (per E-Mail an reisen@statistik.gv.at), sodass wir Sie erreichen können!

Allfällige unter Umständen benötigte Aufzeichnungen über durchgeführte Reisen, insbesondere betreffend die Reiseausgaben (Gesamtkosten der Reise, Kosten für den Transport, die Unterkunft, sonstige Ausgaben für Güter und Dienstleistungen vor Ort) dürfen wir Sie ersuchen bereitzuhalten um die Befragung möglichst kurz halten zu können.

Auch wenn Sie keine Reisen im relevanten Zeitraum getätigt haben, ist diese Information für uns wichtig, daher nehmen Sie auch dann bitte an der Erhebung teil.

Als Urlaubsreisen gelten alle Privatreisen, also auch Verwandten- und Bekanntenbesuche, Reisen zum Zweitwohnsitz und sonstige Reisen zu Erholungs- oder Freizeitzwecken. Dienst- bzw. Geschäftsreisen umfassen alle Reisen, die zu beruflichen bzw. geschäftlichen Zwecken durchgeführt werden.

Neben der Struktur der Inlands- und Auslandsreisen (Aufenthaltsdauer, Zieldestination, Abreisemonat, Reisegrund und Reisezweck, Unterkunft, Reiseorganisation, Transportmittel und Ausgaben) wird das Profil der Reisenden und Nicht-Reisenden (soziodemographische Merkmale) erhoben.

Zum Frageprogramm

WURIAN Rebecka Tel.: +43 1 711 28-7597 reisen@statistik.gv.at
DAUL Rebecca Tel.: +43 1 711 28-8168 reisen@statistik.gv.at